Log in

Ontario Zoroastrian Community Foundation
  • Home
  • Religious Information

22) What are the Four traditional classes of Zoroastrians?
Following four classes were based on the professions
I. Athornān (Priests) II. Ratheshtāran (Kings and Warriors)
III. Vastrayōshān (Farmers)
IV. Hutaokhshān (Artisans)
Since many centuries, Rathestar (non-existent since Yazdargard), Vastriox and Hutoksh have merged into Behdins (followers of the good religion). Even the distinction between Athornan and Behdins is quickly fading. Most Athornans are now engaged in professions other than Mobedi and Behdins are eagerly taking up Mobedyari.

23) What type of rituals are performed?
There are two types of rituals inner and outer:
Inner rituals (pāvmehel) – Yasna, Visperad, Vandidād, Baj-Dharnu, Nāvar, Martab, Boi, Nirangdin, etc. These can be performed only in designated places of worship.
Outer rituals (hoshmordi) – Āfringān, Jashan, Fareshtā, Farokhshi, Satum. These can be performed anywhere in a home or a hall.

24) What are the process of Purification?
There are three types of purification, in order of increasing importance:
I. Kushti Pādyāb
II. Nahān, or sacred bath with prayers and use of Nirang
III. Bareshnum - this is the highest form of purification. It is a complicated ceremony through which a person to be initiated attains the highest order of purity. 

25) Who is a Mobed? The word Mobed is derived from Pahlavi magupat which means a master Magian. Magians were the priests in Western Iran in ancient times. A Mobed is the one who is ordained through his Nāvar and Murtab ceremony who can perform outer and inner liturgical ceremonies such as Yazashne, Visperad, Vandidād and Bāj.

26) Who is a Dastur?
The word Dastur is derived from Pahlavi Dastabar meaning one who exercises authority. A Dastur should combine in himself the best qualities of head and heart. He is expected to be holy, having innate wisdom and spiritual insight which are the two important qualities expected of a high priest.

27) Why do we have to take Nahān (sacred bath) before the Navjote, or wedding ceremony?
During the navjote and wedding ceremonies, we undergo a sacred bath in order to attain the level of inner and outer spiritual purity required to undergo the ceremony. 

28) Why do we have to drink Nirang (consecrated bull's urine) during the Nahān ceremony? 
We are given Nirang to drink during the Nahān ceremony to affect the inner spiritual purification.

© Ontario Zoroastrian Community Foundation
Powered by Wild Apricot Membership Software